• The first chakra or base chakra, Muladhara derives its name from Sanskrit roots: moola (root,base) and adhara (support).
  • The root chakra is the primal life energy of survival.
  • This four petal lotus governs memory, time and space.

Four Petals of the Muladhara

The Sanskrit Letters on the petals of the lotus are ablaze with a golden color to signify the life energy within this powerful root chakra.

Each chakra is embedded with qualities called vrittis (whirlpools) which are thought-forms or emotions held within the chakra.


  • Highest Bliss (Paramananda)
  • Innate Bliss (Sahajananda)
  • Heroic Bliss (Virananda)
  • Bliss of Union (Yogananda)

Characteristics of the Muladhara

Ganesh or Ganesha, the elephant-headed god who bestows protection and removes obstacles is often affiliated with this chakra.

Root Chakra Symptoms of Imbalance

  • Exhaustion
  • Poor Sleep
  • Lower Back Pain
  • Constipation,
  • Immune-related Disorders
  • Obesity and Eating Disorders
  • Feeling Ungrounded
  • Insecure
  • Fearful
  • Absent-minded
  • Depressed/Anxiety
  • Self-indulgent
  • Anger
  • Grief
  • Not Accepting of Life

Balancing Chakra Energy: Healing Through the Five Senses

Mudra & Mantras

Close your eyes and begin to chant the mantra “OM LAM” for 3 minutes. First out loud for a few rounds, then silently to yourself. While chanting, I would like you to visualize a bright red energy emanating from the core of the Earth up through your legs and into your root chakra. Cleansing and energizing your root chakra into the glowing deep red chakra it is. Also, keep in mind any sensations, colors, pictures or words you might experience, these are all messages from the divine.
If you would like to add some healing sound to your meditation, I have provided some healing root chakra C-tone quartz crystal sound bowl frequencies in my youtube video below. Enjoy!