Our emotional center. Self-Love; how we receive love and how we love others. We must be able to love ourselves unconditionally first before we can allow the love of others in.

  • The fourth chakra, Anahata meaning; Unstruck sound.
  • It is said that the sound of the Universe can be heard in the Anahata. The sound of Oneness, the soundless sound of silence know as shabda brahman.
  • The heart chakra is where all 72,000 nadis originate. And, is the point of contact between soul and body.
  • Is the seat of consciousness, the sense of “I-ness”

12 Petals of the Anahata

The Sanskrit Letters on the petals of the lotus are ablaze with a golden color to signify the life energy within this powerful heart chakra.

Each chakra is embedded with qualities called vrittis (whirlpools) which are thought-forms or emotions held within the chakra.


  • Defiance
  • Lustfulness
  • Fraudulence
  • Indecision
  • Repentance
  • Hope
  • Anxiety
  • Longing
  • Impartiality
  • Arrogance
  • Incompetency
  • Discrimination

Characteristics of the Anahata

Lord Rudra is a famous deity worshipped popularly in Hinduism since Vedic times. Rudra is the manifestation of Lord Shiva and quite often the term Shiva and Rudra are used interchangeably. Rudra is the destructive and cleansing force. Though the name looks fierce, Lord Rudra is highly merciful and benevolent in fulfilling the needs of the devotees. Here are a few Rudra mantras with their meanings and benefits.

Powerful Rudra mantra
“Om Namo Bhagavate Rudraya” 
This is one of the most powerful and simplest Rudra mantras used widely for holy chants, worship and meditation. It praises Lord Rudra and prays him to bless the individual.

Anahata Chakra Symptoms of Imbalance

  • Thoracic Spine Issues
  • Upper back & Shoulders problems
  • Asthma
  • Heart Conditions
  • Breathing Issues
  • Lung Issues (i.e.pneumonia)
  • Co-dependency
  • Victim Mentality
  • Jealousy
  • Fear of giving and receiving LOVE
  • Lack of hope
  • Lack of compassion

Balancing Anahata Chakra Energy: Healing Through the Five Senses

Mudra & Mantras

Close your eyes and begin to chant the mantra “OM YAM” for 3 minutes. First out loud for a few rounds, then silently to yourself. While chanting, I would like you to visualize a bright green energy penetrating your heart chakra from the front and back of your being. This beautiful green light is cleansing and energizing your Anahata chakra into the glowing emerald green chakra it is. Also, keep in mind any sensations, colors, pictures or words you might experience, these are all messages from spirit guides & the divine.

If you would like to add some healing sound to your meditation, I have provided some healing heart chakra F-tone quartz crystal sound bowl frequencies in my youtube video below. Enjoy!